ASHA STI Message Board
It is currently Fri Aug 01, 2014 5:31 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

National Cervical Cancer Coalition

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 
 Post subject: Colposcopy
PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 3:24 pm 

I recently received my annual pap results and it indicated that I have abnormal cells. What I was specifically told my doctor was that the cells were low-grade squamous intraepithelial lesion (SIL)/Mild Dysplasia/CIN I and that they may suggest the presence of HPV. I am a nursing student so I unfortunatley already know too much about HPV and am freaking out about my current situation.

I have been scheduled to have a colposcopy. I was wondering if anyone else could please share with me what this procedure is like....whether it is painful? how severe the cramping and bleeding is? or if it is emotionally draining? Thanks.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:59 pm 

Dear Scared,
I can relate! To save myself the trouble of retyping, please feel free to read the dialog with the only other message I've posted--"how did I get this?" by meme. (It's probably a long way down the list.) I explained my experience with the procedure, which was just 3 weeks ago.
meme

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 12:04 pm 

I think everyone is different when it comes to this procedure. What I'm going to tell you about my experience is not meant to scare you. Just to tell you how it was for myself personally.