ASHA STI Message Board
It is currently Fri Aug 29, 2014 1:08 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

National Cervical Cancer Coalition

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 7 posts ] 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2009 4:29 pm 

Hi there...I'm 21 and have GWs for about 3 years now. I've been getting them treated for the past year continuously, and still haven't rid myself of them. :?

I've been using Aldara for a long time - much longer than the supposed 4-month maximum - under the guidance of my family doctor. Now, I'm not a pharmacologist...though I am majoring in Microbiology and Immunology. I get some serious inflammation from Aldara, which suggests it's doing it's thing - provoking an immune response, unleashing the interferon, cytotoxic T-cells, cytokines, etc. The problem is, I've been consistently getting this reaction for nearly a year now. After using this cream for so long, I'm wondering at what point I decide enough is enough, and that some other method of treatment is needed.

At first, I would go in for liquid nitrogen treatment once a week, and use Aldara 3 times a week. Things went well, and the warts decreased in size..though they have never quite disappeared.

It seems whenever I stop going in for liquid nitrogen treatments (again, as directed by my doctor), they come back and become worse than before. This leads me to think that the Aldara doesn't have enough kick on it's own. This is another frightening thought, because it seems (just from looking at online testimonials and journal articles) that most people tend to have great results in clearing GWs with Aldara alone.

The other problem is, my doctor doesn't seem to advocate anything other than Aldara + Cryo. I've been waiting to see a dermatologist but the wait for one is very long.