ASHA STI Message Board
It is currently Wed Jul 30, 2014 6:09 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

National Cervical Cancer Coalition

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 9:12 pm 

Im a 21 year old male and I've just found out my girlfriend/sexual partner might have HPV and is going for the proper tests in a few days. We see each other very rarely, as she lives in america.

I've become concerned as I am seeing what could be some earlier signs of HPV on my penis.
I had a Wart on my finger when i was in my teens, but removed it with sandpaper and jack daniels whiskey, as my doctor wasnt really concerned about it. So im curious to whether it could have transfered from the finger.

Im going to wait before her results come back first, before i start to panic. Then I'll set a date for my test either way.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 10:21 pm 

I am not a Doctor or anything but through what I have gotten from research and through my doctor is that cervical HPV can not be transferred from a wart on your finger, it is simply a different stain of HPV. Cervical HPV can be transferred through foreplay, it does not necessarily have to be intercourse. I hope I have helped you in some way.
Olivia

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 11:56 pm 

Thanks for that, thats what I thought too. I've problably contracted it from someone then. :-/

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 1:32 am 

All warts are caused by HPV. Some effect other areas of the body, but they are not the same type that will cause warts on your genitals. Plus, like fourmore123 stated, if you have a wart on your hand, touch yourself (or a partner) down there, you will not get genital warts from that.

If you haven't read it over already, this site's HPV info is informative:

http://www.ashastd.org/hpv/hpv_learn.cfm