ASHA STI Message Board
It is currently Fri Aug 01, 2014 8:54 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

National Cervical Cancer Coalition

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 9 posts ] 
 Post subject: Questions & Concerns
PostPosted: Thu May 22, 2008 12:51 pm 

It's been two days since i performed unprotected oral sex with a guy. I've never done this kind of thing before. I've been in a happy monogomis relationship for a number of years. This was just a stupid thing I did in a weak moment of experimentation.

Since then, I've been really concerned about contracting an STI. So concerned that I may be hypersensitive to what my body is telling me. I have what I would descibe as a minor burning type sensation in my penis. There is no pain or burning during urination. It could easily be a UTI type of thing and just a coincidence. It started within 12 to 16 hours after my encounter and has persisted since. No discharge or anything like that. But I do feel minor discomfort and fullness in my lower abdomen. I will likely get tested. But I fear it may be to early to tell anything.

Can you get STI symptoms so quickly after possible contact? And, how long should you wait before you get tested?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 22, 2008 5:02 pm 

Usually a sti doesn't show symptoms that quickly. That said - normal mouth flora isn't always so normal in the genital area. You can get infections from receiving oral sex that aren't considered a sti. The best thing to do is follow up with your provider and give a urine sample and get an exam.

betsy

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2008 10:37 am 

Thanks for your response. Just to be clear, I performed oral sex and did not recieve it.

How long should I wait to be tested? And what would the accuracy rate be for various forms of STI tests should I choose to be tested today or as early as next week?

Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 7:41 am 
Site Admin

Mrtom,