ASHA STI Message Board
It is currently Fri Jul 25, 2014 8:05 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

National Cervical Cancer Coalition

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 
 Post subject: HSV 1 AND HSV- 2
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 12:17 pm 

Ok Question.. I was just told February that I have HSV2 so Im new to this... Ok If I was to receive oral when not in an outbreak what are the chance s of my un-infected partner getting 2 orally?

Post subject: As best as I know...
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 7:29 pm 

Hi Sweet ~

I am certainly not the guru that some of the other posters are on this subject... but from my understanding of reading the articles posted on ASHA, the chances are low, if we are speaking percentage wise. And, even less if you are taking an antiviral medication every day.

I think, as I understand it, as far as this virus popping up out of its place of preference, HSV type 1 genitally is more likely to occur than is HSV type 2 orally, but it is still possible.

And, after the experience that I've had, I would advise anyone to always err towards the side of caution...again if you were to infect someone else, you would not enjoy being on the receiving end of that phone call...

But hang loose and let one of the more educated folks confirm this before you go doing anything crazy... he he he

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 9:38 am 

If you have hsv2 and your partner doesn't - then you might want to consider daily suppressive therapy to lower their risk all around no matter what it is you are doing. You can check out asha's info, the herpes handbook and also the valtrex website for more info on this if you aren't familiar with it yet.