ASHA STI Message Board
It is currently Thu Sep 18, 2014 6:38 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

National Cervical Cancer Coalition

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 9 posts ] 
 Post subject: Having kids????
PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 12:45 am 

I tried to be careful and use protection as much as possiable but i guess one person all it took and i'm not sure if she even knows she has it and i've noticed some different things over the time and now i got another out break and so i really questioned it and looked up on it and found out its this and what worries me now is wonderin, Can i still have kids without passin it on or killin the baby or givin it to my wife if i'm at a point of not breakin out or anythin?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 2:38 am 

yep, you can still have kids. Talk to your doctor. As I understand it (and I am NOT a doctor) is that the only danger is if your wife gets herpes during the pregnancy, particularly the latter part of the pregnancy. Also, if she has an outbreak when she's due, the baby will be delivered by caesarean section instead of labor and delivery.

Get some real medical advise, but yes, you can absolutely still have kids. Good luck.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 3:12 pm 

Hi sadpassent, Mike here with ASHA. KC is right - you can have kids. A male or female with herpes can have children. A few things:

-It is true that a baby can contract herpes and that it can be a life-threatening situation, but it's rare for a baby to contract the virus. Most parents with herpes have healthy babies.

-Herpes is not produced in semen and would have no bearing on conceiving a child. In other words, a woman can become pregnant without contracting the virus from the male.