ASHA STI Message Board
It is currently Wed Sep 17, 2014 10:40 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

National Cervical Cancer Coalition

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 11:27 am 

Hello, I am new to this world... I found out almost two weeks ago that I tested positive for both HSV1 & HSV2, and I have been reading this board, as well as some of the links as resources.

I went to see a doctor because I had a possible UTI, and on the day of the appointment, I was in some serious pain, so she did an exam, and at that time she said "I *think* you have a herpes outbreak." She then proceeded to tell me that it wasn't presenting as it normally does, but that she was going to culture it and send it to the lab, as she simply wasn't sure. She asked me whether I had a new relationship - the answer is yes. She then proceeded to look closer and determined that I had a massive yeast infection and that the irritation was likely due to that, BUT she wanted to go ahead and test for everything since I was in a new relationship, and this was my first appointment.

I agreed, thinking nothing of it as she gave me a prescription for medication to clear that up. A few days later I woke up in screaming pain, and after calling the doctor, I was assured that it had to be a reaction to the 3-day Tetraconazole. I specifically asked whether anything else had shown up on my tests that could be the cause of it (through tears as I was in serious pain), and was told no, "everything in your tests came back clear". I was told to use warm compresses, let the medication escape... and then I would feel better. Okay, kinda, but not really so much.

Then exactly a week later I get the call from the nurse.