ASHA STI Message Board
It is currently Tue Jul 22, 2014 6:38 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

National Cervical Cancer Coalition

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 
 Post subject: Help please
PostPosted: Sat Feb 20, 2010 1:01 am 

Hello,

I'm new to this, so excuse me if I'm a bit melodramatic.

I recently found out (within the past 3 days) - not through blood work just examination - that I have the HSV (2 is what i suppose it is from all i've read). I couldn't have been hit harder with the news. I immediately assumed it was my new boyfriend of the last 2 months, because I have never, NEVER shown symptoms before. I had been tested before but can't remember what all for... each time I had a new partner we'd have "the talk" about testing and all that, and each time i had been told they were clean - apparently someone lied to me.

Upon telling my boyfriend, who claimed just days prior to be absolutely in love with me, and seeing this whole future together, he couldn't be more cold. the first two days he figured he had given it to me, or had it as well so what was the difference. when he went to get blood work and checked out (he only had a spot or two on him) the dr said it didn't look like he had it but would do the test anyways. if someone could answer - are the blood tests that correct?