ASHA STI Message Board
It is currently Sat Apr 19, 2014 2:07 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

National Cervical Cancer Coalition

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 2 posts ] 
 Post subject: New Partner
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2007 3:18 pm 

Ok. i am new to herpes, i found out about three months ago. It wasnt a big issue, because I was in a long term relationship at the time, which he felt like after i was diagnosed there was no point in him getting tested, since he believed he already had it. Well now we have broke up and I am really interested in sleeping with this guy that I have had a crush on since Jr. High. We have been talking, and spent two nights together, but only kissed and touched. My questions are: How should I tell him, is on the phone appropriate, when is appropriate, and is it contractable through sweat?? Or kissing, or oral sex?? I have type two. I am so afraid of being rejected, that I have considered not even talking to him anymore. I also think that he has had alot of partners in the past, so maybe he has it too. I am also suspicious that my ex had it already and did not tell me,, because he doesnt want to get tested, and also because when I told him I have hpv, he said he had it too, and I am pretty sure he wasnt going to inform me!!! I am becoming depressed because the guy I really like is coming in from offshore next week, and I am scared to death to tell him. I almost want to tell him online, so I wont see his face. I am hurting over this, because I like him so much. Please help!!!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2007 7:40 am 

Be sure to read the anchored post "now I am gun shy" at the top of this forum - it has terrific suggestions in it for how to talk about your herpes with someone. Also the info on asha's regular site and the herpes handbook ( www.westoverheights.com ) both offer terrific suggestions too.